Pentacles Approved

The pentacle has been added to 38 symbols the VA already permits on gravestones. They include commonly recognized symbols for Christianity, Buddhism, Islam and Judaism, as well as those for smaller religions such as Sufism Reoriented, Eckiankar and the Japanese faith Seicho-No-Ie.

Well it’s really nice to see that even Seicho-No-Ie must finally acknowledge Paganism as a real faith. The pentacle is actually only representing Wiccanism according to the article, but it is the closest thing to a universal symbol that Paganism is likely ever to get. With the exception of certain Discordians who will remain nameless, other recognized symbols used by Pagans, such as Thor’s hammer and the ankh, appeal to a more narrow segment than the pentacle. It is likely that there will always be Pagans that do not use or identify with this symbol, but now in the spring of 2007, upon reaching this settlement with the Veterans Administration, the pentacle is the most widely accepted symbol that Pagans have.


One thought on “Pentacles Approved

  1. Well, I’m happy to hear this, because I remember a piece in the news a year or so ago that the VA wasn’t allowing pentacles on gravestones and this woman was livid, because her pagan husband had been killed in Iraq. Good for the VA.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s