Aspis of Ares

This morning I was fortunate enough to discover the Aspis of Ares, an online votive offering to the god of war.  Ares is the god who helped me find Hellenismos (a story I may recount fully at some point), and I am no stranger to online votive offerings, so this blog is likely to become one of my favorites as I deepen my understanding of this powerful-yet-terrifying god.

I don’t believe that “terrifying” is an epithet which was used for Ares in the Hellenic period, but it certainly fits my initial relationship with aggression and my perceptions of the war god.  He is so much more than mere brute force, though, and I am most pleased that Pete has made this offering which shows the many aspects of Ares.

Leave a Reply

