The broken goddess

There’s a tree in my yard, under which I started a moss garden when we first moved here a few years ago.  After I began practicing Hellenismos, I got the sense that this spot is sacred to Artemis, but other than an occasional libation, my tending did not change overmuch for quite some time.  This summer, though, I realized that one of the stones that I’d placed there was incredibly level on the top, and could support a statue, but nothing of more than about 12″ in height.

Finding a statue that small, which is made to withstand the elements, is no minor task.  I have trolled the series of tubes, I have asked in all the Hellenic groups in which I participate, I have posed careful questions to everyone I personally know who might collect such statuary.  There’s a cement caster not all that far from my home, one who uses traditional Italian methods, but he has no interest in adding more “classical” material to this repertoire.  Instead, he offered me a very nice Buddha.

Eventually I discovered a particularly reputable vendor online, and for once, the response to my simple question, “Can this be safely displayed outside?” was answered in the positive.  The shipping from Greece was more than the statue itself, but it was more than worth it.  The time waiting for its arrival was weeks, but that was not unexpected.

What was unexpected, though, was that the carefully-packed goddess had nevertheless sustained damage.  Her golden bow had been wrenched from her hand, and the golden arrow in the other was sadly bent.  The tail of her companion deer, as well as the fletchings from the arrows in the quiver upon her back, were broken off.

The seller behaved in a manner most professional:  I sent him pictures of the damage, he refunded the purchase price with shipping right away.  If anything, I am more likely to buy from him again than ever.

But what to do with my broken goddess?  My hands are not so skilled with tools and steady for fine work to make it likely I could restore it fully to its former glory.  And should I make the attempt, what adhesive might I use that could withstand the snow and rain of this outdoor shrine?  And perhaps more importantly, should I determine I cannot repair this statue, how should I best dispose of it?

Leave a Reply

