What methods of inducing altered states of conscious[ness] does your tradition have?

As with anything in a localized, reconstructed tradition, the answers can come from “there and then” or “here and now.”

There and then altered states were most famously (and perhaps apocryphally) induced by gases leaking up from a volcanic vent.  Alcohol was pretty popular in some corners of the world, too.

Here and now I’m aware that many of my co-religionists have mastered techniques, both old and new, to induce trance for oracular work, as well as open themselves to the gods in general.  This is technically hearsay, because I have neither witnessed nor experienced it myself, although I have faith it’s really happening to others.  I simply haven’t felt called to explore this myself, and rely upon those flashes of insight that I receive from time to time.

Someday when I’m not working three or four jobs I may yet learn what works for me.  I had some powerful experiences in my pre-Hellenic days, specifically with Herne, and I’m more than a bit curious what doors I may open by going deep.

This post is part of a series of devotional questions for polytheists which were developed by Galina Krasskova.

2 thoughts on “What methods of inducing altered states of conscious[ness] does your tradition have?

  1. I find that the repetition of certain hymns can induce an altered state of consciousness. I also find that fixing one’s gaze on a flame from a candle and breathing rhythmically and deeply can induce an altered state of consciousness. They may or may not work for you, but I mention them because they are simple to use and (in my experience) quite effective.

    Like

Leave a Reply

