End of the line

Nothing else interesting this way. Move along.

It was fun, but now it’s done.  Over the course of Maimakterion I wrote 33 hymns to Poseidon, including all the epithets I know were used for him in antiquity, several that I’ve been assured were or should have been used no matter what the limited records say, and a couple that I’m almost certain have not been uttered up until now.  I think this assignment was only to prepare me for two successive months of Poseideon, but as I write this I don’t know what is expected of me.  I don’t expect further daily demands upon my blog, but I haven’t actually asked yet.  (Divination might work, but I’m also a Quaker, and weekly worship is often where I get my messages.)

The product of this month’s work won’t be restricted to my blogging, though.  Astute readers may note that I have only posted 29 hymns here, but claim to have written 33.  (There’s also a bit of prose that came out, and I’m really excited it did, but even though I know what it’s trying to say, I barely understand it; clearly, it needs a wee bit of polish.)  I do intend on submitting the original 29 for consideration for inclusion in From the Roaring Deep.  I was excited when I learned about this anthology months ago, thinking it would make a good read, then I put it out of my mind.  A few days into my hymn-marathon it was again brought to my attention, and the fact that it opened for submissions during this month was not lost on me — I can be dense, but sometimes a sign is pretty clear.  Beyond that, I know I have more writing to do, because no matter what gets included in that worthy tome, I intend on putting out a collection of my own, one that will include the four I haven’t shown to anyone yet.

Once that book is published, I’m permitted to take on an additional name to mark that offering.

Being a simple guy, I’ve been stunned by the amount of interest and support this work has received.  I’ve seen over 60 hits on this blog some days, and a couple of my posts have nearly 10 comments!  (Seriously, it doesn’t take much to please me.)  Some people have given me particular support that is worthy of public gratitude.  They are:

  • My wife, who I am not naming just because I haven’t ever asked her if I could do that here.  She’s the one who first pointed out that I had a problem with Poseidon, even though she may not think that’s what she was doing, and despite being on a different path, her unwavering support of my religious life makes it all possible.
  • Sannion, the first person who called me on the fact that I really never talked about Poseidon.
  • My priest Timotheos, who pointed that that Poseidon also had noticed.
  • Jolene Poseidonae, who has been an enthusiastic cheerleader and constant inspiration.

The fact that I was experiencing a lot of repressed anger is less interesting to me than the assignment I was given to work on that:  write about him to learn about him, I was told.  I don’t [yet] think that my questions have been answered (except for that one Sannion got an answer to via divination; for some reason I never got the email and ultimately I decided I didn’t want it, not that way), but I now have some tools to help me ask better questions.

3 thoughts on “End of the line

  1. While I think that you should totally submit these for the Poseidon anthology, I would really *really* like to see this as their own separate book at some point. Their own separate book with only your name on the cover, and the royalties going to you, and nothing but Poseidon hymns contained there-in. Because, you deserve that much for all the work you’ve done, you not-a-poet-you, and because they themselves deserve to be showcased in a collection dedicated to only they themselves — and I’ll admit it here — because I want to see more books out there for Poseidon, not fewer. 🙂

    I am so sad to see this come to an end, but I’m forever grateful for the inspiration this project of yours has given me. Even if it had not, just seeing this much material out there for Poseidon . . . I can’t even begin to tell you how thrilled that makes me. I know — I *know* — I’m not alone in my adoration of Him, but it is beyond words to see people talking about Him, and exploring His nature, His messages, His touch upon the world, and sharing those explorations. I haven’t the words for how happy (happy! What a paltry word!) this makes me.

    Hail, Poseidon! And, I’d raise a horn to you, too, because damn, the work you’ve done! Hurrah!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I need to learn more about my father. Your hymns helped. I found three incarnations of Poseidon to work with specifically.

    I still need to learn more though. One day I’ll share a Divinatory technique tool with you, you might find interesting. But not now. The way you get your answers is already good on it’s own.

    Like

Leave a Reply

