“I’d rather Poseidon stay in the ocean.”

I visited a group dedicated to the Green Man to talk about Poseidon.  “Did you know that Poseidon has a Green Man aspect?” I asked, eager to share my enthusiasm for that theme.  I was devoted to the Green Man for many years, and was absolutely floored to discover that maybe I wasn’t worshiping an archetype or force of nature as I thought; it could have been Poseidon in the forest all along.

The only reply I got was from a member who said something like the title of this post.  “There’s so much need to clean up the oceans,” he explained, that he’d “rather Poseidon stay there.”

While I appreciate that there’s a lot of ugly in the world that needs fixing, I hardly think it’s up to us to tell the gods where they ought to focus their attentions.  Or what they should have influence over.  If I were a more hotheaded polytheist, I might have likened such comments to hubris, but I really do understand the spirit in which they were made.  However, I do not agree, not even a little bit.

Since I’m writing about Poseidon’s life beyond the ocean, check out my latest update, in which I talk about the cthonic Poseidon.

3 thoughts on ““I’d rather Poseidon stay in the ocean.”

  1. I remember reading somewhere that Poseidon was first worshipped by a land-bound group of people and only became associated with the sea after they moved or his worship spread. *Goes to watch your video*

    Like

  2. Pingback: Play the game. Everybody’s doing it. | The House of Vines

Leave a Reply

