The worst we do

In fifth grade, my teacher told the class about drugs.  I remember very little of the lessons, except for one line which I remember to this day”

Your body screams out for heroin.

This is how Mr Russo explained addiction.  I took it to heart, and I have never tried the stuff.  For many years, I thought it was a problem of the third world, or the past, but it’s not any longer.  Heroin, and all other opiates, are running roughshod over countless people, because we are simply not cut out to resist it, once we try it even once.

To that end, I offer this prayer.

Leave a Reply

