Business as usual

“You are now on the business beat,” said my editor to me yesterday.  That suits me just fine, because I am fascinated with how we struggle with money issues in the Pagan communities.  We’ve got a fair amount of poverty (some by choice), and a fair amount of guilt over doing well.  There are rules about who can charge what money for which services without automatically being deemed jerks.  The permutations may be endless.

Business_presentation_byVectorOpenStock

Last week I spoke with a vandalism-targeted Pagan shop owner who has dealt with proselytizing inside and out, broken windows, Chick tracts and spit-attacks.  On the flip side, I was honored to interview Abby Willowroot, whose spiral goddess design is a staple in Neopagan circles.  (Side note:  I really, really dig interviews with elders.)  Yesterday I wrote about the ongoing issues faced by esoteric business owners, whose products and services are often indistinguishable from outright scams to the average observer.

Do Pagans and polytheists risk a loss of our core values by getting serious about business, or is it one of the best ways to ensure that we are seen as serious and legitimate religious practitioners?  That debate is sure to rage for quite some time to come.

2 thoughts on “Business as usual

  1. I for one am interested in this debate. As someone who has spent a lifetime in money and banking, I always shake my head about people who open Pagan stores and expect that the community will support them, without having to market to anyone else. I have seen a lot of that more than the vandalism, though that has happened also.

    Money and Pagans have been a puzzle to me. I wonder where these (for me) toxic ideas of money come from. On one hand, everyone has spells for money and prosperity, and on the other hand are suspect of those who have money. I look forward to your writing.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

